Patience, a vital ingredient for your diet

Standard

We all know this feeling of total motivation in the first few days of our diets. We buy all the healthy food, maybe even have the intention of working out, some even do! But after about a week or two at the latest, when weight loss slows down or even comes to a standstill, we get frustrated. This is the point where most people give up. Yes I know, because I have done it just like that many times.

It has now been almost eight weeks since I have “changed my life style”. I am not allowed to call it a diet my daughter said, as it’s a choice I am making for the rest of my life. I guess that’s where my age shows. Back in the 80’s and 90’s it was still a diet, because you were losing weight. Anyhow now I am waffling. In the last eight weeks I have lost 15 lbs. The first seven virtually dropped off me, as I went for the low carb approach with Celebrity Slim,

Even though Celebrity Slim claims to be a calorie controlled diet, it is very low in carbs, so low that I almost fainted a few times while I was out and about. Not my idea of fun I tell you and from what I have heard, I was not the only one feeling totally washed out and exhausted on this diet.

So two weeks ago, after a week off all diets, I decided to up my carb intake and just count my calories. I was terrified of putting the lost weight, which was 12 lbs by then, back on and I was so desperate to finally hit the 14 lb mark. But thanks to my friend Brett Day, who encouraged me to add more carbs and is the best example of that they are not the source of all evil, I stuck to it and am now seeing results. My weight loss has slowed down, but I am eating a normal, healthy, calorie controlled diet, where I can eat anything I like, but in moderation. Yes, I am even eating a bit of chocolate now and then and don’t even feel bad for it.

Yes, it might have taken me almost a month to finally get to the 14lb mark, but to be honest, I feel better for it. I have energy, don’t feel tired and snappy all the time and I know now that I can keep this up for as long as it takes.

After all, good things come to those who wait, patiently.

Hang in there people 🙂

Have your say

